October 8, 2013

I read a book a couple of years ago that affected me about as much as any book ever did.  At least as far as my thinking is concerned, and especially as my bent toward optimism is concerned.

I believe I’ve always been optimistic but when I read Andy Andrews book The Noticer, I gained a new perspective on what it means to see the bright side of about any situation.

It was Andrews, homeless and living under the pier at Gulf Shores Alabama, who during a time of his own pessimism learned that eating Sardines and Vienna sausages under the pier was actually surf and turf with an ocean view

I’ve thought about that, pondered it, looked at it from all angles, and have been influenced by that thought ever since I read those words.

That is at least partly why the quote yesterday made so much sense to me.  Whenever two or three are gathered one has a broken heart or one that is breaking.

I have come to understand that if we don’t Notice and handle the brokenness with love, broken hearts will fester, and allow the pain of that brokenness to go deeper into the heart and drive wedges between love and forgiveness.

Be a people who take the time to Notice…and our influence will reveal the light of Christ.

Peace

Jim

 

Leave a Reply

