January 1, 2014

I remember when as kids we used to play hide and seek out in the yard. Whoever was “It” would count to ten and then say, “Ready or not, here I come!”

Whenever the Ready or not words were spoken I remember freezing in whatever position I was in hoping that if I didn’t move someone else would be found before me. As kids we would play this game for hours.

This morning I was reading my devotions and the sun popped up, and I thought of the sun saying, “Ready or not, here I come!”

And then I thought of another new year, and again… “Ready or not…”

The point is, we are rarely ready for whatever is next, it just comes whether we are ready or not.

This new year, like all new years, will come with a promise of challenge that will affect us in many ways. Uncertainty will be the rule of thumb in many of our lives and we will search for something to bring us comfort and security as we face doubt, ambiguity, and indecision on many levels.

So because of uncertainty most of us need something constant, something that never changes to keep us at peace. We search through all we know to find something to hold tightly, something that will not change. But there is really only one constant that never changes, God’s promise to be with us. The Psalmist says in Psalm 121:1-3:

I look up to the mountains – does my help come from there? My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth! He will not let you stumble; the one who watches over you will not slumber.”(NLT)

Let 2014 be a year to face with confidence whatever is before us as we step into the unknown, a year not to wait on whatever is “It” to come find us but a year to move ahead challenging the obstacles we will surely face. Live the promise God gives us, the promise of Life with the confidence of a people whose trust is in God.

Peace

Jim

One thought on “January 1, 2014

Leave a Reply

