October 28, 2014

bible

I was looking up a Scripture text today and noticed the condition of my favorite study Bible.  Some sections are falling apart.  So I began to look to see what I evidently spend the most of my time studying or being drawn toward. 

Some of the Old Testament is fairly worn – which excited me some because I think we need the Old to better understand the New and I’m glad I spend some time there.

But by and large Matthew’s Gospel and Paul’s letters – especially Galatians, Ephesians, and Philippians – are tattered and torn, dirty and wrinkled, written on, underlined and highlighted.

So I wondered “Why?”

What I found was that the sections that teach us the most about following Jesus – about living as Jesus taught us to live – are the areas where I spend so much time.  I thought that interesting since those are the areas that us people seem to struggle with the most.  About the time I think I make some headway with this is about the time that something reminds me of how far off I am.

Just some thoughts for the day.

Jim

Leave a Reply

