May 27, 2015

I read something this week about our life following Jesus.  It was about our journey and our destination.

“We are transformed as we walk with God on a trajectory that will lead us to knowing him more.  That means that the journey is every bit as important as the destination.”
The Mosaic experiment

If where we are headed – the final kingdom – speaks to us, what about our journey to that place; shouldn’t the journey be as important as the destination?  Shouldn’t we be showing more and more of the image of the destination as we travel along?

Each day we begin is one more step in the journey,   How is our journey progressing?  Are we being transformed little by little into the image of the Kingdom?

Peace

Jim

8 thoughts on “May 27, 2015

  1. Sadly, most Christians (and people) are just hanging on by a thread, trying to figure out where this “victorious life in Christ” is. Instead of being transformed, they’re hanging on for dear life.

    • Transformation seems to occur when our view of Christianity is more than what happens when we die. It is liberating to figure out that the journey can bear resemblances of the destination.

  2. I have a quote from T.D. Jakes on my blog that talks about that very thing. He gives 6 ways to be happy. Number 3 is “Enjoy the journey, not the destination. Celebrate life – not when you get to the finish line or the next goal.” Of course, that’s my paraphrase.

  3. Yeah he had some good points. I really do love the Jesus of the Bible. I would totally hang out with him, and text him all day, etc. But it is just soooooo quiet when I pray. He doesn’t answer.

    • It’s difficult to understand how God speaks. For me, sometimes it’s through confirmation that I’m on the right track, sometimes it’s through others, and sometimes I hear him through the Scriptures at various times. All that said, God seems quiet sometimes to me too, but I keep nagging him 🙂

      • I’m a musical person, so I guess God could speak to me through music. But I’ve been looking for something real. Something personal. If that makes sense.

  4. I wish I could explain how real and personal Jesus seems to me, but it’s one of those things one must experience on their own. It can seem so simple sometimes and yet so difficult at others. What brought me around was a feeling. I used to feel as though there was something for me to do besides just be a good person doing good things. I would wrestle with those thoughts off and on for years. I prayed for God to show me what he wanted me to do or be…but nothing came (for years). I began to believe that God was ignoring me, or somehow not present when I honestly poured my heart out to him. I would say, “God I’ll do anything you want me to do except be a pastor because you know God better than me, I can’t speak in front of people.”
    I questioned my faith, I prayed over and over for God to increase my faith. And without fail it seemed like one catastrophe after another came my way (I don’t believe God caused my problems but God led me through them). One day I was driving to work and I was praying. And before I thought the words came out of my mouth, “Give me more faith God.”
    And as soon as I said it I almost wrecked my truck, I swerved to the side of the road because it felt like somebody threw a brick at me… And all of a sudden it hit me. What in the world am i concerned about? With God I can do anything! I sat up straight as I could in my seat and yelled at the top of my voice, “Go ahead God, Increase my faith! I can do anything! I’ll even preach if that’s what you want me to do!”
    And what God did was give me a voice, he took away my fear of people, gave me compassion for people, and I was appointed full time to a church within a year – not something that happens regularly in my denomination). But here’s the point of that whole story. When I look back I can see where God was active in my life, where God was listening and laying groundwork that paved the way for me (lots of things too numerous to mention now). I thought God was not listening and all the while God was moving. And I know it was God moving because I know how I was – timid, shy, and generally afraid of people – and I know how I am now. I also know that there is no way I could do what I do alone…It’s God with me all the time. I sometimes feel God is a bit too silent for me, but when I step back and look…I see where God has worked sometimes in spite of me. And the neat part (you mentioned the Jesus of the Bible the other day) the neat part is that I know it’s Jesus being an active part of my life. It’s my guess that Jesus is a bigger part of your life than you may realize. Take a step back, look at your life, and notice the twists and turns you’ve made…notice the pain and the struggles as well as the choices you’ve made good or bad. My wife is a musician too and part of her worship is playing music…God does speak there.
    Sorry for the long post but while the Jesus of the Bible is a simple man with a simple message…he is also the mind of God, and the mind of God is so much more intricate than we can imagine. I hope that helps some.
    Jim

Leave a Reply

