July 22, 2015

My mind has been blank so far this week…not sure why but each time I try to think nothing comes to mind.

I got to thinking about not being able to think – insert smiley face here – and came up with a few things.  Maybe I’m supposed to quit trying to think and listen better, or slow down a bit.  Maybe I should just clear my mind by getting alone with God in nature…the river comes to mind, haven’t done that in a while.

Maybe I’m being directed closer to people, I mean to hear their stories, feel their joy or frustrations in a different way than I usually do…

Maybe all of the above.

That said I think I met Jesus twice yesterday in the faces of some people who brought to my mind Jesus’ words:

“Whatever you do for the least of these…you did it to me.”
Matthew 25:40

And it got my attention…

If we let the goings on of the world distract us away from the suffering of our neighbor…then the real enemy has won a battle.

Peace

Jim

 

2 thoughts on “July 22, 2015

  1. Lovely post! These same thoughts have been on my mind as well. God has been teaching me the importance of loving people everywhere I go, whether it’s my best friend for a few hours or the local barista for 10 minutes. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is a great reminder!!

    • Thanks Lillian, A storm just rolled through middle Tennessee, and behind it is sunshine…I think I’ll go to the river fishing with a good friend.

Leave a Reply

