June 29, 2017

I was thinking this morning about life, friendships, about things that have taken place over the years…and I thought about how the things in life that are most important to me are worth next to nothing to another person.  Things like this truck.  I suppose I am just an incurable romantic.

IMG_3002

 

I bought this truck from a friend who bought it new back in 1989.  I drove it everywhere, and as it deteriorated over the years I’ve worked on it and kept it running. I replaced the right front fender – my only body work ever – grill, and banged the dents out of the hood after it hit a deer.  I had the engine replaced and kept on driving it.  But finally it came to rest in the driveway for several years and I’ve longed to get it back on the road. 

This week I took it to the shop for some major repairs and sometime this week I’ll drive it again.  It’s like an old friend is about ready to visit.

As I wind up my coffee, prayer, and devotion time this morning, I leave with good thoughts of old times coupled with the promise of Jesus to lead into what lays ahead.

Just some thoughts…

Peace

Jim

Leave a Reply

